BYOD

BYOD (Bring Your Own Device) is another “movement” that is really catching on. Students are able to bring their cellphones, tablets, laptops etc to school with them. I recently researched this topic for another class, because I didn’t have much experience with it. From my research, I found it to be really interesting.

There are many positives to BYOD. In schools where funds for technology is an issue, students brining their own electronics is helping. Students are able to actively participate in class, and they don’t have to worry about sharing/working off of the few computers a class may have. This also frees up the computers for students who do not have their own devices. Another positive point is that students are familiar with how to work their device. Teachers don’t have to waste precious instructional time explaining to students how to work the technology.

I was exposed, first hand, to a website during a profession development. It’s called Poll Everywhere. It’s a great toll for teachers to use in their classroom, and it can be used by any person who has internet capabilities on their device. This site is both useful and saves money, as it is a free replacement for clickers.

As with any new movement there are some drawbacks. One of the drawbacks to consider is internet safety of the students. Students must agree to use their personal devices according to the school rules. It is also important to keep the school’s internet secure. Most schools that allow BYOD have “contracts” set up that students must agree to prior to using their own device.

Through my research I found some interesting articles on BYOD. I will attach the links, in case you are interested 🙂

Implementing BYOD

NEA’s Thoughts on BYOD

Article on BYOD

**FYI I have tried several times to change the time to the correct time. For some reason it is putting me a day ahead (even after I have changed it) Any suggestions on how to get to correct date/time to post?

2 responses to “BYOD

  1. I agree! BYOD is a great initiative for schools that lack funding to create a 1-1 environment. I have used Poll Everywhere and found it useful, especially with students. If you haven’t already tried it, look into Kahoot! It is a lot of fun and does something similar to Poll Everywhere.

    I like how you pointed out the need for contracts. I think this is a critical aspect of a successful BYOD program. We definitely need to make sure our students not only bring their devices, but understand our expectations for their use.

    Thanks for sharing the resources about BYOD! I’m not sure how to change a date on wordpress- sorry I can’t help you out!

    Like

Leave a Reply

