Rubrics

Creating rubrics is one of my least favorite things to do… I am a kindergarten teacher, and it is often difficult to assess my students’ abilities using a rubric. In kindergarten, students aren’t graded using the tradition A-F scale. We use Satisfactory, Needs Improvement, and Unsatisfactory. The more I thought about the rubrics we are using in this class, the more I tried to apply them to my classroom. I finally decided that I could fit the rubric criteria into these three categories. I have tried to implement some rubrics in my classroom using these criteria, and I am really interested to see if it will work.

I have also been trying to think of ways students can assess themselves on a rubric. Right now, my students are able to assess themselves against our learning goal, and I think this may not be too much of a stretch for them. I would love suggestions on ways to do this in a kindergarten classroom!

As a class, I showed students an example of a digital storytelling project. We discussed what needs to be part of the project, and then I let the students rate the project. I was absolutely amazed how well the students were able to pick out what was missing from the project. I had a student who told me that he would say it “needs improvement.” When I asked him why, he said that the student used a lot of cartoon pictures instead of real pictures. I was so impressed, because he was hitting on another kindergarten standard that we hadn’t really talked about yet. Everyday I am so amazed at how much my students can do 🙂

Please let me know your experience with rubrics and if you have any suggestions for me!

Thanks!!

Leave a Reply

